Red Light and Stop Sign Tickets in Wyoming

Learn about Wyoming’s red light and stop sign laws and the costs of a violation.

If you get a stop sign or red light ticket in Wyoming, you'll likely be looking at having to pay a fine. (This not to say that might not have other options for dealing with a traffic citation.)T his article gives an overview of what the law requires and some of the consequences of a stop sign or red light violation.

Making the Stop

Motorists approaching a stop sign or a signal exhibiting a red light (solid or flashing) generally must come to a complete stop prior to the nearest of entering the crosswalk, reaching a limit line, or entering the intersection itself.

Right-On-Red Rule

As long as there's no sign specifically restricting it, Wyoming law permits drivers to make a right turn after stopping at a red light. However, drivers need to use caution and follow the normal right of way rules when making the turn.

Left-on-Red Rule

Some states don't allow left turns on red, regardless of the circumstances. However, in Wyoming, drivers are permitted to turn left after stopping at a red light at the intersection of two one-way streets. In other words, a motorist can make a left on red from a one-way street onto another one-way street.

Meaning of a Yellow Light

Some states require motorists to stop at a yellow light except when it's unsafe to do so. However, in Wyoming, a yellow light is just a warning that the signal is about to turn to red. In other words, you can enter an intersection on yellow, just not after the light has already turned red.

Costs of a Ticket

Red light and stop sign violations are misdemeanors in Wyoming. Generally, the fines are:

  • Stop sign violations. $135.
  • Red light violations. $85 to $135.

Although these violations can lead to jail time, most violations just involve a fine.

Depending on the circumstances, a red light or stop sign violation could lead to a reckless driving conviction. And a driver who runs a red signal or stop sign and ends up killing another person could face "homicide-by-vehicle" charges.

Get Professional Help

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you