Wyoming’s distracted driving law prohibits all motorists from text messaging while operating a vehicle. This article covers the specifics of the law and the costs of a texting ticket.
Wyoming currently has no restrictions on making or receiving calls or talking on a phone while driving.
Wyoming’s distracted driving law prohibits all motorists from using a handheld wireless communication device to write, send, or read a text-based communication.
Exceptions. Wyoming’s texting ban doesn’t apply to:
Penalties. A texting violation is a misdemeanor in Wyoming and carries a maximum $75 or $90 fine (depending on the circumstances).
Depending on the circumstances, a texting violation could also lead to a reckless or careless driving conviction. And if a texting offense results in the death of another person, “homicide by vehicle” charges are a possibility.