Nebraska has a Graduate Driver Licensing Program (GDL). GDL laws have been proven to reduce fatalities, lower injuries and ultimately result in safer highways and roadways. New drivers who participate in the GDL system must reach various milestones before they are allowed to graduate to a less restrictive license level and eventually receive a full unrestricted license. The rules described below explain how Nebraska’s GDL system works.
To qualify for Nebraska 's School Learner’s Permit the applicant must be a minimum of 14 years of age, and less than 16 years of age. The School Learner’s Permit is designed to allow teen drivers to practice driving so they can qualify for a Nebraska School Permit. Prior to receiving a School Learner’s Permit, the teen driver must pass a vision screening and written tests. The School Learner's Permit is valid for a period of three months and can be renewed. Teen drivers that hold a School Learner's Permit may only drive while accompanied by a licensed driver who is a minimum of 21 years of age.
To qualify for a Nebraska School Permit the applicant must be between of 14 years and two months of age and less than 16 years and three months of age. In addition, you must have held a School Learner Permit or LPD for a minimum of two months to qualify.
Prior to applying for a School Permit the following must be completed:
Both the driver test and the written exam may be waived if a Written and Driver Test Waiver is presented to the Driver License Examiner. The waiver form is supplied by the driving instructor after the teen driver has completed a State of Nebraska approved safety course. A School Permit can be issued if the teen driver lives 1.5 miles or more from the school they attend and either resides outside a city of 5,000 or more or attends a school outside a city of 5,000 or more.
A teen driver holding a school permit may operate a motor vehicle unsupervised to and from where they attend school and between schools of enrollment over the most direct and accessible route by the nearest highway from their place of residence to transport such person or any family member who resides with such person to attend duly scheduled courses of instructions and extracurricular or school sanctioned activities at the school they attend or any time when accompanied by a licensed driver who is a minimum of 21 years of age.
The applicant must be a minimum of 15 years of age to receive a Nebraska Learner’s Permit; however you may take the exam no sooner than 60 days before your 15th birthday. Learner’s permit holders must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is a minimum of 21 years of age. Applicants for the learner permit must pass a vision screening and written exams. The written exams may be waived if the applicant has been issued a School Learner Permit, a School Permit or a previous Nebraska Learner Permit if it has not been expired for more than one year. The Learner Permit is valid for one year and may be renewed.
The applicant must be a minimum of 16 years of age to receive the Provisional Operator's Permit; however the applicant may take the exam no sooner than 60 days before your 16th birthday. The applicant must have held a LPE, LPD or SCP for a minimum of six months and not accumulated three or more points on their driving record within the most recent six months prior to application for the Provisional Operator Permit. The Provisional Operator Permit expires on the holders 18th birthday.
Prior to applying for the Provisional Operator Permit the following must be completed:
Both the driver test and the written exam may be waived if a Written and Drive Test Waiver is presented to the Driver License Examiner. The waiver form is supplied by the driving instructor after the teen driver has completed their State of Nebraska approved safety course. The Provisional Operator Permit holder may drive unsupervised from 6:00 am 12:00 am. The holder of the Provisional Operator Permit may drive from 12:00 am 6:00 am if they are driving from home to employment or a school sanctioned activity. The POP holder may drive at any time if they are accompanied by a licensed driver who is a minimum of 21 years of age.
For the first six months that a teen driver holds the POP, they may not drive with more than one passenger that is under the age of 19 who is not an immediate family member. Teen drivers under the age of 18 that have held a Provisional Operator Permit for a minimum of 12 months and have not received three or more points on their driving record over the previous year are eligible for a State of Nebraska Operator License. The written exam and driving test may be waived.
All Passengers in a vehicle being operated by the holder of a POP or SCP must wear safety belts or be restrained in a car seat. Teen drivers that hold a School Learner's Permit, School Permit, Learner's Permit or a Provisional Operator's Permit may not use any type of cell-phone or wireless communication device while driving. This includes text messaging, personal digital assistants, laptop computers or audio / video devices that sends or receives messages.
The State of Nebraska has a financial responsibility law that mandates liability insurance for all vehicles registered in the State. Proof of financial responsibility must be carried in the vehicle at all times and presented to the designated County Official when registering your vehicle. A Certificate of Insurance must be in its original form (No Photocopies) and must contain the following information:
The Minimum Liability Coverage Amounts are Listed Below:
Please use the links below for more information on the Nebraska Financial Responsibility Law and Insurance Requirements.