Utah has a Graduated Driver Licensing Program (GDL). GDL laws have been proven to reduce fatalities, lower injuries and ultimately result in safer highways and roadways. New drivers who participate in the GDL system must reach various milestones before they are allowed to graduate to a less restrictive license level and eventually receive a full unrestricted license. The rules described below explain how Utah’s GDL system works. The Utah graduated licensing system applies to teen drivers between the ages of 15 and 18.
You must be a minimum of 15 years of age to qualify for a Utah Learner Permit. Applicants under the age of 18 must have their application signed by a parent, legal guardian or authorized adult. The adult that signs this application assumes all legal and financial responsibility for the driving actions of the permit holder. Prior to receiving a learner permit the applicant must pass a physical and mental fitness test, as well as knowledge test.
Teen drivers under the age of 18 that receive a learner permit may only drive when accompanied by an approved driving instructor, licensed parent, legal guardian or responsible adult. The supervising adult must occupy the front passenger seat next to the learner permit holder. The teen driver must carry the learner permit with them at all times when driving.
Teen drivers under the age of 17 may not drive between the hours of 12:00 am and 5:00 am except under the following conditions:
Learner permit holders under the age of 17 may not drive with a passenger that is not an immediate family member within the first 6 months of issue unless they meet the following conditions:
Applicants for the Utah Minor Driver License must be a minimum of 16 years of age and have held a learner permit for a minimum of six months. Applicants under the age of 18 must have their application signed by a parent, legal guardian or authorized adult. The adult that signs this application assumes all legal and financial responsibility for the driving actions of the permit holder. The teen applicant and the responsible adult must show proof of residency, and valid identification. Please use the links at the end of this page for approved proof of identification and residency documents.
Teen applicants must have completed a minimum of 40 hours of driving. 10 out of the 40 hours must have been nighttime driving. Applicants must have passed a State of Education or Division approved driver education course. In addition the teen drive must pass a Skills Test administered by the division. The restrictions mentioned in the previous section apply to minor driver license holders under the age of 17.
It is illegal to drive in the Utah without minimum liability insurance. Drivers are required to carry proof of insurance and produce this proof if requested by a law enforcement officer. The amounts listed below reflect the minimum amount of liability insurance allowed by State law.
Please keep in mind that these are minimum requirements. You may want to speak with your insurance agent about coverage above and beyond the legal minimum.