Kentucky's distracted driving laws prohibit text messaging for all drivers and talking on a cellphone for only certain drivers. This article discusses the specifics of what the laws prohibit and the costs of a texting or cellphone ticket.
For most Kentucky motorists, there are no restrictions on talking on a cell phone while driving.
However, for motorists who are under the age of 18 and driving with an instruction permit, intermediate license, or operator's license, all "personal communication device" use while operating a vehicle that's in motion is prohibited. In other words, these underage drivers aren't allowed to text message or talk on a phone while driving.
The underage cellphone ban doesn't apply to communications made to summon medical help, law enforcement, or a public safety agency in an emergency. And using a GPS or navigation system isn't prohibited so long as the driver does not manually enter information into the system while driving.
An underage texting or cell phone conviction carries a $25 fine for a first violation and a $50 fine for second or subsequent violations. A conviction can also delay the driver in obtaining an intermediate license and add demerit points to the motorist's driving record.
For all Kentucky drivers, it's illegal to use a personal communication device to read, write, or send a text message while operating a vehicle that's in motion. The prohibition includes regular text messages, instant messages, and email.
The texting-while-driving law contains a number of exceptions. The law doesn't apply to:
A texting ticket will cost the driver $25 fine for a first violation and a $50 fine for second or subsequent violations. The conviction will also add three points to the motorist's driving record.
Depending on the circumstances, a texting or cellphone violation could also lead to a reckless driving conviction. And if one of these violations results in the death of another person, vehicular homicide charges are a possibility.