If you get caught running a stop sign or red light in Nebraska, you'll typically be looking at a fine and points on your driving record. (However, there may be other options for dealing with your traffic citation that don't involve these consequences.) This article gives an overview of what the law prohibits and some of the specific consequences of a stop sign or red light violation.
At a red light (solid or flashing) or a stop sign, motorists must come to a complete stop prior to the nearest of reaching a limit line, entering the crosswalk at the near side of the intersection, or entering the intersection itself.
Nebraska law allows motorists to make a right turn after stopping at a red light unless there's a sign indicating the turn is prohibited. Drivers must use caution and follow right-of-way rules when making a right on red.
In Nebraska, a motorist can make a left turn after stopping at a red light only from a one-way street onto another one-way street. Of course, motorists need to follow the normal right-of-way rules and proceed with caution when making the turn.
In Nebraska, a yellow light is a warning that the signal is about to turn red. Motorists must stop at a yellow light unless they are so close to the intersection that a stop can't be safely made.
Generally, stop sign and red light violations are traffic infractions in Nebraska. Convicted motorists are typically looking at a $75 fine plus $49 in fees.
A stop sign or red light conviction will generally add one demerit point to a motorist's driving record. Accumulating too many points can lead to license suspension. But eligible motorists can reduce their points by taking a driver improvement course.
Depending on the circumstances, a red light or stop sign violation could also lead to a reckless driving conviction. And if one these offenses result in the death of another person, vehicular homicide charges are also a possibility.