Nebraska’s Traffic Violation Point System

The points and license-related penalties associated with traffic tickets in Nebraska.

Nebraska keeps a record of all traffic-related convictions for each driver. Each conviction is assigned a point value depending on the severity of the offense. If a driver accumulates too many points, the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) can suspend or revoke the driver’s license or require the driver to complete a driver improvement course.

Point Values for Traffic Violations

Here are the points assigned to some of the most common traffic violations.

Violation

Points Assessed

Motor vehicle homicide

12

Third-offense DUI

12

Failure to stop for accident

6

DUI

6

Willful reckless driving

6

Reckless driving

5

Careless driving

4

Negligent driving

3

Speeding five or less miles per hour over limit

1

Speeding five to 15 miles per hour over limit

2

Speeding 15 to 35 miles per hour over limit

3

Speeding more than 35 miles per hour over limit

4

Failure to yield to pedestrian

2 (4 points if injury)

Illegal cellphone use (texting and driving)

3

Unlawful obstruction

1

Illegal passing of school bus

3

All other traffic infractions

1

Non-moving violations like seat belt, parking, and illegal load offenses don’t result in point assessment.

Consequences of Accumulating Too Many Points

Nebraska has a multi-stage point system based on the driver’s age and point total.

Drivers Who Are 21 and Older

The DMV will send a notice of license revocation to any driver who accumulates 12 points in a two-year period. The revocation period will be for six months and the driver can only reinstate the license after completing an eight-hour driver’s education course. The driver must also maintain proof of insurance for three years after license reinstatement.

A driver who is revoked twice in a five-year period will face a three-year license revocation. The driver must still complete an eight-hour driver’s education course and maintain proof of insurance for three years.

Revoked drivers are able to apply for a restricted working license or a medical hardship license. These licenses give the motorist limited driving privileges during the revocation period.

Appeal. Drivers are permitted to appeal the license revocation to the district court within 30 days of the order.

Young Drivers

Youth drivers will face different penalties based on the number of points and the type of license held.

Permit. Minor drivers holding a learner’s permit are prohibited from advancing to a provisional operator’s permit if he or she has three or more points in the last six months.

Provisional operator’s license. A driver under 18 years old with a provisional operator’s license is prohibited from getting an unrestricted driver’s license if he or she has three or more points in the last 12 months.

Drivers under 21. A driver under the age of 21 will receive an order of suspension from the DMV after acquiring six points in a 12-month period. However, the driver can be reinstated after completing an eight-hour driver improvement course or turning 21 years old.

Removing Points

Points remain on a driver’s record for five years. Additionally, once every five years, drivers can voluntarily take the driver improvement course to remove two points from their record. An expungement or pardon will not remove points.

All prior points are removed after the driver completes a point-related suspension.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
Get Professional Help

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you