Nevada’s Traffic Violation Point System

The points and license-related penalties associated with traffic tickets in Nevada.

In Nevada, a traffic ticket generally results in fines and fees. However, certain violations also lead to driver’s license demerit points. The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) uses these points to encourage safe driving. Drivers with 12 or more points will lose their driving privileges for a period of time.

Point Values for Traffic Violations

Here are the points assigned to some of the most common traffic violations.

Violation

Points Assessed

Driving while under the influence

7

Drinking while driving

5

Failure to aid after accident (hit and run)

6 (4 points if unattended vehicle)

Headlight violation

2

Unsecured passenger in open area

1

Impeding traffic

2

Disregard road closure sign

4

4

Failure to obey lane marking

4

Failure to obey railroad signs

4

Safety zone violation

4

School zone violation

4

Traffic sign violation

4

Improper passing

4

Following too closely

1

Careless driving

6

Inattentive driving

4

Reckless driving

8

Repeat cellphone violation

4

Failure to yield to pedestrian or cyclist

4

Wrong way on one-way street

4

Failure to signal

1

Illegal U-turn

3

Speeding at least 41 miles per hour over limit

5

Speeding 31 to 40 miles per hour over limit

4

Speeding 21 to 30 miles per hour over limit

3

Speeding 11 to 20 miles per hour over limit

2

Speeding 1 to 10 miles per hour over limit

1

Speeding too fast for conditions

2

Racing

8

Minor unlisted moving violation

2

Some traffic tickets, such as aggressive driving, don’t result in a point assessment.

Consequences of Accumulating Too Many Points

A driver with at least three points will receive a notice from the DMV of the point total and an overview of the point system. A driver with 12 points will receive a notice of suspension. The suspension will be effective 30 days after the mailing date of the notice and the length of suspension will depend on the number of prior suspensions the driver has.

A driver with no point-related suspensions in the last three years will be suspended for six months. A suspended driver can apply for a hardship license after completing three months of the suspension. To be eligible for a hardship license, the applicant must show a valid hardship (a compelling need to drive) and complete an approved traffic safety course. A hardship license allows driving only to and from places like work and school.

A driver with one point-related suspension in the last three years will be suspended for one year. The driver is permitted to apply for a hardship license after completing six months of the suspension.

A driver with two point-related suspensions in the last five years will be suspended for 12 months and isn’t eligible for a hardship license.

Point Removal

All points expire one year after the date of the conviction. Additionally, drivers with three to 12 points can complete a DMV-approved traffic safety course to remove up to three demerit points from his or her record. A driver can use this option for removing points only once per year.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
Get Professional Help

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you