Nevada has two types of speeding laws: a “basic speeding law” and “absolute limits.” This article explains the differences between the two and the consequences of a speeding violation.
Nevada’s basic speeding law prohibits driving at a speed that is greater than is “reasonable or proper, having due regard for the traffic, surface and width of the highway, the weather and other highway conditions.” The law also prohibits driving at a rate of speed that “endanger the life, limb or property of any person.”
In other words, motorists must always drive at a safe speed. What a safe speed is will depend on the circumstances. For instance, 55 miles per hour might be safe on a bright, sunny day. But if it’s dark and the road is icy, going 55 miles per hour could be dangerous and a violation of the basic speeding law.
There is no trick to how Nevada’s absolute speed limits work: If the absolute speed limit is 50 miles per hour and you drive faster than that, you’ve violated the law. Absolute speed limits are those that are posted alongside roadways. However, in no event is a motorist permitted to drive faster than 80 miles per hour.
Speeding is a misdemeanor in Nevada. A violation carries up to six months in jail and/or a maximum $1,000 in fines. Though speeding tickets typically don't lead to jail time.
Depending on the situation, a speeding violation could lead to a “reckless driving” conviction. And a speeding violation that results in the death of another person could lead to vehicular manslaughter charges. Both of these offenses carry more serious penalties than a normal speeding ticket.
Depending on how fast a motorist was going, a speeding violation will add one to five points to the motorist’s driving record. Accumulating 12 or more points within a year leads to a six-month license suspension.