Nevada requires teens to hold an instruction permit before obtaining a driver's license and imposes certain age-related restrictions and requirements on teen drivers.
Instruction permits. A Nevada minor must be at least 15 and a half years old to apply for an instruction permit. The applicant must show proof of identification and obtain the consent of a parent or guardian who will be liable for any misconduct. The signing parent or guardian can withdraw consent and revoke the teen's license at any time. To obtain an instruction permit, the teen must also pass the vision test as well as a test covering local traffic signs and traffic laws.
An instructional permit is valid for one year and permits the holder to operate a vehicle under the supervision of licensed driver who's at least 21 years old and has held a driver's license for at least one year.
Restricted licenses. Teens who are at least 15 years old can receive a restricted license that permits operation only under the supervision of a licensed driving instructor. All the other requirements that apply to instruction permits must still be met.
Teens who are 16 years old and have completed a certified driver's education course can apply for a driver's license. The application must be signed by a liable parent or guardian and must include proof of school enrollment or graduation. During the prior six months the teen must also:
The teen's parent or guardian must certify that the teen has completed at least 50 hours of supervised driving time (including ten nighttime hours).
Teens who live at least 30 miles from any driver's education provider can complete an additional 50 hours of supervised driving time instead of driver's education.
Curfew. Minor license holders are not permitted to drive between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless driving to certain scheduled events such as work or school. The teen must be able to provide proof of the approved scheduled event.
First six months. For the first six months, minor license holders are not permitted to carry passengers under 18 years old unless the passenger is an immediate family member. A violation of this restriction will result in a six-month extension of the restriction. Any subsequent offense will result in a $250 fine and a court-mandated extension of the restriction.
If a teen's license is suspended for any reason, the suspension will extend until the teen's 18th birthday.
Nebraska offers two licenses for persons at least 14 years old who show valid proof of hardship.
Medical hardship. A teen with a medical hardship or family medical hardship can apply for a restricted license. The applicant must still be enrolled in school and pass any required test and will be permitted to drive only under department-defined circumstances.
School hardship. A teen who lives in a town of less than 25,000 people or a county of less than 55,000 people can apply for a pupil license to drive to and from school. The application must include an affidavit from the principle indicating that no other form of transportation is available to the student. The license allows the teen to drive themselves and certain minors to school, but only under 55 miles per hour.
Before any driver can lawfully operate a vehicle in Nevada, the vehicle must be properly insured. In Nevada, the mandatory insurance requirements include at least $25,000 bodily injury per person, $50,000 bodily injury per accident, and $20,000 property damage per accident.
Driving without valid insurance is a misdemeanor and carries a $600 to $1,000 fine. A court can also order up to six months in jail or community service. The driver's license will be suspended until proof of valid insurance is shown and the reinstatement fees are paid. This reinstatement fee can be $250 to $1,750 depending on the number of prior offenses and the duration of the insurance lapse. The DMV will require the driver to hold valid insurance for at least three years.