If you get caught running a stop sign or red light in New Hampshire, you'll likely face fines and demerit points on your driving record. (However, you might have options to avoid the fine and points.) This article gives an overview of what the law prohibits and some specific consequences of a stop sign or red light violation.
At a red light or stop sign, motorists generally must come to a complete stop before entering the crosswalk at the near side of the intersection or at a clearly marked stop line. If there is no crosswalk or stop line, the driver should stop before entering the intersection itself.
New Hampshire law allows motorists to make a right turn after stopping at a red light unless there's a sign indicating the turn is prohibited. However, the motorist making the right turn must yield the right-of-way to pedestrians using the crosswalk and other traffic lawfully in the intersection.
Many states permit drivers to turn left onto a one-way street after coming to a complete stop. In New Hampshire, however, a left turn is allowed at a red light only if there's a sign indicating such a turn is permitted.
In New Hampshire, a steady yellow light is a warning that the light is about to turn red. In other words, you're allowed to enter an intersection while the light is still yellow, just not after it has turned red.
Unlike in many other states, New Hampshire law prohibits the use of red light cameras.
A stop sign violation carries $124 in fines and penalties assessments. And motorists found guilty of a red light violation will typically pay $62 for a first violation and $124 for a second violation within a year.
Depending on the circumstances, a red light or stop sign violation could also lead to a reckless driving conviction. And if one of these violations results in the death of another person, vehicular homicide charges are another possibility.