North Dakota drivers who run red lights or stop signs will likely have to pay a fine. Red light and stop sign violations also add points to a motorist's driving record. (However, a driver might have other options for dealing with a traffic citation that don't involve fines or points.) This article gives an overview of what the law prohibits and some of the consequences of a stop sign or red light ticket.
When approaching a red signal (flashing or solid) or stop sign, motorists must come to a complete stop prior to the nearest of entering the crosswalk, reaching a marked stop line, or entering the intersection itself.
As long as there's no sign prohibiting it, North Dakota law permits drivers to make right turns after stopping at a red light. However, drivers need to use caution and follow the normal right-of-way rules when making a right on red.
In North Dakota, motorists are allowed to make a left turn after stopping at a red light only from a one-way street onto another one-way street.
In some states, it's illegal to enter an intersection on a yellow light. However, in North Dakota, a solid yellow light is just a warning that the light is about to turn red. In other words, you're allowed to enter an intersection while the light is still yellow, just not after it has turned red.
In most parts of North Dakota, you'll pay between $20 and $100 for running a red light or stop sign.
A stop sign or red light conviction will add two demerit points to a motorist's driving record. Drivers who accumulate 12 or more points face license suspension. However, eligible drivers can get a three-point reduction by completing a "driver training course."
Depending on the circumstances, a red light or stop sign violation could also lead to a reckless driving conviction. And a driver who runs a red signal or stop sign and causes a fatality may face vehicular homicide charges.