Ohio's distracted driving laws generally ban texting while driving for all motorists and talking on a cellphone for only certain drivers. This article discusses the specifics of what the law prohibits and the costs and other consequences of a violation.
Ohio's distracted driving law prohibits all motorists from using a handheld wireless communication device to write, send, or read text-based communications while driving.
The distracted driving law defines "handheld wireless communication device" as any wireless telephone, text-messaging device, personal digital assistant, computer, laptop, tablet, or similar wireless device designed or used for text communications.
Ohio's texting-while-driving law contains a number of exceptions. These exceptions include using a device:
Also, drivers who are parked outside a lane of traffic are permitted to text.
A texting-while-driving violation is a minor misdemeanor in Ohio. A conviction carries a maximum $150 fine.
For most Ohio motorists, there are no specific restrictions on talking on a cellphone while driving. In other words, drivers are allowed use a handheld phone while operating a vehicle.
For motorists who are under the age of 18 and driving with a temporary instruction permit or probationary license, all wireless device use while driving is prohibited. In other words, the prohibition means no texting, no talking on a cellphone, and no other electronic devices use for these underage drivers.
Ohio's wireless-device-use ban for underage drivers doesn't apply when a device is used by a person:
Also, the prohibition doesn't apply when an underage driver is parked outside a lane of traffic.
For a first violation of the underage wireless-device-use law, there's a $150 fine and a 60-day license suspension. Second violations carry $300 in fines and a one-year license suspension.
Ohio also has a law that enhances the penalties for a moving violation (like speeding or running a red light) where the driver committed the violation while "distracted." For purposes of this law, "distracted" generally includes text messaging and any other activity that isn't necessary for operating the vehicle and impairs (or reasonably could be expected to impair) the ability of the driver to operate the vehicle safely.
The distracted driving enhancement results in up to $100 being added to the fine for the other moving violation. However, the driver can elect to take a distracted driving safety course instead of paying the enhancement fine.
Depending on the circumstances, a texting violation could also lead to a reckless driving conviction. And if a texting offense results in the death of another person, vehicular manslaughter charges are a possibility.