In 2007 the State of Ohio enacted a law that places restrictions on teen drivers under the age of 18. The law is designed to limit high risk driving situations for teen drivers and to increase adult supervision. Probationary drivers may continue to practice their driving and also have the opportunity to graduate to a less restrictive licensing level.
Applicants for a State of Ohio Temporary Permit must be a minimum of 15 years and 6 months of age. All applicants must provide proof of age, identity and a social security number. Teen drivers must have their parent or legal guardian sign their permit application and also present valid identification. Prior to receiving a Temporary Permit, the applicant must complete a knowledge test and a vision screening.
Teen Drivers Under 16. Teen drivers under the age of 16 that hold a Temporary Permit may only drive with a licensed parent, legal guardian or certified driving instructor. Once the teen driver has reached the age of 16 they are allowed to drive with any licensed driver that is a minimum of 21 years of age. The accompanying licensed adult driver must occupy the front passenger seat next to the teen driver. The Temporary Permit holder must carry a photo identification card with their application with front and back data at all times while driving.
All Temporary Permit holders must finish 24 hours of class instruction and 8 hours of driving instruction with a certified driving instructor. In addition to this training, the teen driver must complete 50 hours of practice driving with 10 out of the 50 hours being nighttime driving. This practice driving must be documented and certified by the parent or legal guardian of the Temporary Permit holder. The Temporary Permit must be held for a minimum of 6 months before taking the skills test to obtain an Ohio Driver License.
Teen drivers under the age of 17. Teen drivers under the age of 17 may not carry more than one passenger that is not an immediate family member unless they are accompanied by their parent or legal guardian.
All drivers with a probationary license that are between the ages of 17 and 18 may not drive between the hours of 1:00 AM and 5:00 AM unless they are accompanied by their parent or legal guardian except for:
Teen drivers under the age of 17 and Permit holders under the age of 18 may not drive between the hours of midnight and 6:00 AM unless they are accompanied by a licensed parent or legal guardian.
Probationary license holders that are convicted of a moving violation within the first 6 months of receiving their probationary license must be accompanied by a licensed parent or legal guardian while driving for a 6 month period after conviction or until the teen driver turns 17. All passengers that are a minimum of 4 years of age and under 15 years of age must be properly restrained with safety belts or an approved child restraint system in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.
Applicants for an Ohio probationary license must be a minimum of 16 years of age and have held their Temporary Permit for a minimum of 6 months. Temporary Permit holders must have completed the driver training requirements that have been outlined above. All teen drivers applicants must complete the State of Ohio driving and maneuverability test before they can receive their Probationary License.
Probationary license holders that are 16 years of age. Probationary license holders that are 16 years of age may not operate a motor vehicle between the hours of midnight and 6:00 AM unless they are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian except for:
Probationary license holder that are 17 years of age may not drive between the hours of 1:00 AM and 5:00 AM unless they are with a parent or legal guardian with the exceptions listed above. Teen license holders that are 16 years of age may not carry more than one passenger that is not an immediate family member unless they are accompanied by their parent or legal guardian.
Probationary license holders may not drive with more passengers than the total number of safety belts in the vehicle. The State of Ohio Probationary License is valid until the teen driver reaches the age of 18.
It is illegal to drive in the State of Ohio without insurance or proof of financial responsibility. The financial responsibility law in Ohio mandates the following coverage:
For more information on the State of Ohio Insurance Requirements and Financial Responsibility law please use the links provided below.
Follow the links below for additional information on Ohio driving laws found on this website.