Delaware has several types of speeding laws: a "general speed restriction" and absolute limits. This article explains the differences between the two limits and the consequences of a speeding violation.
Delaware's general speed restriction (sometimes called a "basic speed rule") prohibits motorists from driving faster than is "reasonable and prudent" based on current conditions. In other words, motorists must always drive a safe speed taking into consideration traffic, weather, visibility, and other potential hazards.
Delaware's absolute speed limits are straightforward—if you exceed the maximum limit, you've violated the law and can be ticketed. The absolute speed limits include:
Absolute limits are typically posted.
Generally, the fines for speeding violations are $20 for a first offense and $25 for a second or subsequent offense. In addition to these fines, the driver is required to pay:
Generally, fines are doubled for violations that occur in roadwork and construction zones.
A speeding violation will also add two to five points to a motorist's driving record.
Depending on the situation, a speeding violation could also lead to reckless driving charges. And for speeding violations that involve fatalities, vehicular homicide charges are possible.