Oklahoma’s Commercial Driver’s License Laws

The requirements to obtain an Oklahoma CDL and the reasons for disqualification.

The operation of a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) in Oklahoma requires a commercial driver’s license (CDL). Each CDL has specific endorsements and restrictions applicable to the CMV operated. A CDL operator can face license revocation for certain criminal convictions and rule violations. This article outlines when a CDL is required, how to obtain a CDL, and how a driver can lose CDL privileges.

When a CDL Is Required

Oklahoma requires a CDL for any vehicle weighing 26,001 or more pounds, designed to carry hazardous materials, or carrying 16 or more passengers. A registered farm vehicle does not require a CDL to operate when operated by the farmer for farm purposes.

Oklahoma's Commerical License Classes

There are three classes of CDLs based on the weight of the truck and/or trailer(s).

Combined Weight

Tractor Weight

Trailer(s) Weight

Class A

26,001 or more pounds

26,001 or more pounds

Over 10,000 pounds

Class B

26,001 or more pounds

26,001 or more pounds

10,000 pounds or less

Class C

Under 26,001 pounds

Under 26,001 pounds

10,000 pounds or less

The license limits must meet or exceed the carried weight. So, a class A CDL can be used to haul any weight of CMV.

Endorsements. Endorsements are listed on the CDL and grant additional privileges, like the ability to transport hazardous materials. Each new endorsement requires additional testing.

Seasonal CDL. Oklahoma has a restricted CDL for farm use within 150 miles of the farm. However, the farm CDL is good for only 180 days of the year and is limited to class B CMVs. An applicant must have a driver’s license and must generally be at least 18 years old.

CDL Testing

Prior to taking the driving test, CDL applicants must obtain a commercial learner permit (CLP). The CLP requires a valid driver’s license, passage of a written CMV knowledge test, and proof of residency. The CLP can be used to operate a CMV under the supervision of a licensed commercial driver. After 14 days, the applicant can then use the CLP to take the driving test and obtain a full CDL. Drivers must be at least 18 years old to hold a CDL and at least 21 years old to operate out-of-state.

CDL holders are required to self-certify as to the type of driving performed. All drivers are also required to obtain a medical certification that indicates adequate general health to operate a CMV.

CDL Revocation and Disqualification

Failure to abide by any of the many CMV rules or traffic ordinances can result in fines and license revocation. A revoked CDL is not eligible for any hardship status.

Serious traffic violations. The commission of multiple “serious traffic violations” within three years will result in license revocation. When operating a CMV, serious traffic violations include speeding 15 miles per hour or more over the limit, driving without a valid CDL, reckless driving, erratic lane changes, following too closely, using a cellphone while driving, and any CMV violation involving a fatality. Having two serious traffic offenses results in a sixty-day revocation and having three or more violations results in a 120-day revocation.

Out-of-service orders. An out-of-service order (OSO) is a temporary order prohibiting CMV operation. It is often issued by an investigating officer to prevent operation when the CMV or driver is unsafe for operation. Driving during an OSO will result in license revocation:

  • First offense in ten years. 180-day license revocation (one-year if in CMV designed for hazmat or 16 or more passengers).
  • Second offense in ten years. Two-year license revocation (three-year if in CMV designed for hazmat or 16 or more passengers).
  • Third offense in ten years. Three-year license revocation.

Railroad crossings. CMVs also have special rules for crossing railroad tracks. Failure to leave enough clearance or failure to abide by railroad signals can result in a 60-day, 120-day, and one-year license revocation for a first, second, and third violation in a three-year period.

Major offenses. More serious crimes and offenses require a one-year license revocation. These “major offenses” include chemical test refusal, driving a CMV while under the influence, leaving the scene of a collision, using a CMV in the commission of a felony, using a CDL to defraud, and negligently causing a CMV-related fatality. Driving a CMV while revoked is also a major offense and carries $100 to $500 in fines and up to one year in jail. The driver will be disqualified for three years if the major offense occurred in a hazmat CMV. A driver will be revoked for life upon conviction of a second major offense or for using a CMV to manufacture or distribute controlled substances.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
Get Professional Help

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you