Red Light and Stop Sign Tickets in Kentucky

Read about Kentucky’s red light and stop sign laws and the consequences of a violation.

If you get caught running a stop sign or red light in Kentucky, you’ll typically be looking at a fine and points on your driving record. This article gives an overview of what the law prohibits and some of the specific consequences of a stop sign or red light violation.

(Also, read about the options for dealing with a traffic citation.)

Making the Stop

At a red light (solid or flashing) or stop sign, motorists must make a complete stop at a clearly marked stop line or before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection. And if there is no stop line or crosswalk, the driver needs to stop before entering the intersection.

Right-On-Red Rule

Kentucky law allows motorists to make a right turn after stopping at a red light unless there’s a sign indicating the turn is prohibited. However, before turning, the driver must yield the right of way to pedestrians and other traffic passing through the intersection as directed by the signal.

Left-on-Red Rule

In Kentucky, a motorist can do a left turn after stopping at a red light only from a one-way street onto another one-way street. Of course, drivers who make a left turn at a red light must yield the right of way to pedestrians and other vehicles lawfully using the intersection.

Meaning of a Yellow Light

In some states, it’s illegal to enter an intersection on a yellow light. However, in Kentucky, a steady yellow light is just a warning that the light is about to turn red. In other words, you’re allowed to enter an intersection while the light is still yellow. But if you enter the intersection after the light has turned red, you can be cited for running the light.

Red Light Cameras

Unlike a number of other states, Kentucky doesn’t use automated cameras to detect and ticket red light violators.

Special Rules for Motorcycles

Under certain circumstances, Kentucky law allows motorcyclists to run a red light. Motorcyclists who are cited for a red light violation can get off the hook by proving:

  • they came to a complete stop at the light
  • the light stayed red for at least 120 seconds or two signal cycles
  • the light apparently malfunctioned or failed to detect the motorcycle or bicycle, and
  • no person or vehicle was approaching so as to create a hazard when the motorcyclist entered the intersection on red.

Fines, Points, and Other Possible Charges

Generally, a stop sign or red light violation carries $20 to $100 in fines. A red light or stop sign violation will also add three demerit points to the motorist’s driving record. But a driver can typically avoid the points by completing traffic school.

Depending on the situation, a red light or stop sign violation could also lead to a reckless driving conviction. And if one of these violations results in the death of another person, vehicular homicide charges are another possibility.

FEATURED LISTINGS FROM NOLO
Swipe to view more

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you