Kentucky’s Traffic Violation Point System

How Kentucky’s demerit point system works and the consequences of building up too many points.

In an effort to keep highways safe, Kentucky uses a demerit point system to identify habitually reckless and negligent drivers. All moving violation convictions are recorded by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KTC), which assigns a number of points to the driver’s record. The more serious the offense, the more points the KTC assesses. And the accumulation of too many points will result in license suspension or other penalties.

Points Values for Traffic Violations

Kentucky assigns the following point values for each traffic violation listed below.

Violation

Points Assessed

Speeding 15 or less miles per hour over limit

3

Speeding 16 or more miles per hour over limit

6

Failure to stop for school bus

6

Improper passing

5

Reckless driving

4

Driving on the wrong side of road

4

Following too closely

4

Failure to yield to emergency vehicle

4

Changing drivers in moving vehicle

4

Vehicle not under control

4

Failure to stop at sign or light

3

Failure to yield

3

Wrong way on one-way street

3

Driving too fast for conditions

3

Driving too slow for conditions

3

Careless driving

3

Improper lane usage

3

Headlight violation

3

Texting while driving

3

If a driver is convicted of multiple violations in the same incident, six points will be assessed. Also, out-of-state convictions (other than speeding) can result in point assessment.

Consequences of Accumulating Too Many Points

Drivers who are at least 18. The KTC is authorized to suspend the license of any driver who accumulates 12 points within two years. However, the KTC will generally issue a warning letter after six points, informing the driver of the current point total and the penalties of future violations.

Drivers under 18 years old. Minor drivers will normally receive a warning letter but can be suspended after receiving only seven points in two years. Receiving points will also delay the driver’s ability to progress under Kentucky’s graduated license system.

Suspension. After reaching at least 12 points (or seven if underage), the driver’s license will be suspended based on the number of prior suspensions within the last two years.

  • No prior suspensions. A driver with no prior suspensions will be suspended for 90 days to six months.
  • One prior suspension. A driver with one prior suspension will be suspended for one year.
  • Two or more prior suspensions. A driver with at least two prior suspensions will be suspended for two years.

Points are not erased after the suspension. So, additional violations after a suspension can result in additional suspension periods. These suspension periods run concurrently (back-to-back).

Informal hearing. A driver facing license suspension can request an informal hearing with a KTC officer. The officer can review the record to ensure the suspension is proper and has the option of ordering probation in lieu of suspension.

Probation. The probation period will be twice the length of the proposed suspension period. During probation, the driver must complete an approved driver improvement clinic and avoid moving violations. Moving violations or failure to complete the clinic will result in probation revocation and license suspension. Probation is not available for learner-permit drivers or drivers who have participated in license probation in the last two years.

Appeal. A formal administrative hearing is available for drivers who wish to contest the results of the informal hearing.

Point Removal

Kentucky points cannot be removed or waived but do expire after two years.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you