West Virginia's distracted driving law generally prohibits all drivers from text messaging or talking on a cellphone while operating a vehicle. Here are the specifics, including the fines for a distracted driving ticket.
West Virginia's distracted driving law makes it illegal to drive or operate a vehicle while:
The distracted driving restrictions are applicable even when a motorist is temporarily stopped because of traffic or red signals. To lawfully use a cellphone or other electronic device, the driver must park in a location where it's safe to remain stationary.
West Virginia's distracted driving law doesn't apply
And, as noted above, cellphone and electronic device use isn't prohibited if accomplished in hands-free mode.
The fines for a distracted driving violation are $100 for a first offense, $200 for a second offense, and $300 for a third or subsequent offense. The Division of Motor Vehicles will assess demerit points to a driver's record only for third and subsequent convictions.
In certain situations, a distracted driving violation could lead to reckless driving charges. And if a distracted driving offense contributes to the death of another person, negligent vehicular homicide charges are a possibility.