Alaska’s Traffic Violation Point System
A driver who has accumulated at least 12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months will receive a notice of suspension.
Red Light and Stop Sign Tickets in Alaska
If you get caught running a stop sign or red light in Alaska, you’ll likely face fines and demerit points on your driving record. This article gives an overview of what the law prohibits and some specific consequences of a stop sign or red light violation.
Alaska’s Teen Driver’s License and Insurance Requirements
Alaska has a number of different licenses available to teen drivers. However, the two most common teen licenses are an instruction permit and provisional license—both are prerequisites for a teen to obtain an unrestricted driver’s license.
Alaska’s Cellphone-Use & Texting-While-Driving Laws
Alaska’s distracted driving law prohibits text messaging while driving. But there’s currently no state-wide ban on cellphone use while driving. Read about the law's specifics, including the penalties for a texting ticket.
Alaska's Speeding Laws and Penalties
Read about Alaska’s speeding laws and the consequences of getting a speeding ticket.
Driving Without a Valid (or on a Suspended) License in Alaska
What does it mean to drive without a license in Alaska? Driving without a license can refer to three scenarios: you never had a valid license, you don't have your license with you in the car, and you get caught driving after getting your license revoked or suspended.
Alaska’s Commercial Driver’s License Laws
Obtaining a commercial driver's license (CDL) in Alaska requires the passage of a skills and knowledge test based upon the type of commercial motor vehicles (CMV) being driven. Federal law requires that CDL drivers crossing state lines must be 21 years of age.
Alaska's Vehicular Homicide and Manslaughter Laws and Penalties
A motorist who drives with negligence or recklessness in Alaska and kills another person may face homicide, manslaughter, or murder charges. Learn more about how the offense is defined and the penalties you'll face if convicted
Alaska’s Child Car Seat and Seat Belt Laws
Vehicle child safety seat requirements, including age and height limits for different types of car seats.