Oklahoma’s Traffic Violation Point System

The penalties for acquiring too many traffic violations under Oklahoma’s driver’s license demerit system.

An Oklahoma traffic conviction normally leads to fines and fees. But most violations will also result in points being assessed by the Department of Public Safety (DPS). DPS uses these points to identify problematic drivers and will take action when a driver accumulates too many points.

Point Values for Violations

Here are the points that are assigned to some of the more common traffic offenses.

Violation

Points Assessed

Reckless driving

4

Speeding 41 or more miles per hour over limit

4

Speeding 26 to 40 miles per hour over limit

3

At-fault accident

3

Improper passing

3

Speeding 11 to 25 miles per hour over limit

2

Speeding 1 to 10 miles per hour over limit (commercial drivers)

2

Cellphone use by bus or commercial driver

2

Wrong direction

2

Failure to stop at light or sign

2

Failure to yield to right-of-way

2

Following too closely

2

Careless driving

2

Racing

2

Railroad crossing violation

2

License restriction violation

2

Failure to turn on or dim lights

1

Defective lights, brakes, muffler, or other equipment

1

No license

1

Unsafe lane change

1

Improper passing

1

Failure to signal

1

Improper turn

1

Spinning wheels

1

Unsafe speed

1

Coasting

1

Disobey police officer

1

Disobey traffic sign

1

Consequences of Accumulating Too Many Points

The Oklahoma DPS reviews a driver’s history after receiving a notice of a traffic-related conviction and may take action depending on the number of points the driver has accumulated.

Warning. A driver with five or six points will typically receive a warning letter indicating the possible penalties associated with future traffic violations.

Exam or class. After accumulating at least seven points, the DPS will send a “notice to appear” (for a hearing) to the driver. At the hearing, the DPS can order the driver to complete a driver improvement or defensive driving course. Alternatively, the DPS can require the driver to retake the driving test or submit to a physical or mental evaluation to determine if he or she is capable of safe driving.

Suspension. Drivers with ten or more points will receive a notice of suspension, which will be effective 30 days after the date of mailing. The length of suspension depends on the number of prior license suspensions the driver has in the last five years.

  • No prior suspensions. Suspended one month
  • One prior suspension. Suspended three months
  • Two prior suspensions. Suspended six months (cannot be modified)
  • Three prior suspensions. Suspended 12 months (cannot be modified)

Options for Drivers

Drivers facing a warning or suspension letter do have a few options.

Point credits. The Oklahoma DPS will reduce or eliminate the points of a driver in certain circumstances:

  • Traffic school. Completion of a driver improvement course or defensive driving course will reduce the driver’s point total by two points (Drivers can take a course for point reduction only once every 24 months).
  • Time without violations. Going 12 months without any traffic convictions will reduce the driver’s point total by two points. Going three years without any traffic convictions will reduce the driver’s point total to zero.
  • Point expiration. Points assessed for a specific conviction will expire five years after the conviction.
  • License reinstatement. Upon reinstatement after a suspension, the driver’s license point total will be reduced to five or fewer points.

Appeal. A driver facing suspension has the right to appear at an administrative hearing and contest the validity of the suspension.

Hardship license. At an administrative hearing, the driver can also request an “occupational modification.” The driver must show extreme and unusual hardship and that no other means of transportation exist. If granted, the license can be used to operate a motor vehicle with certain restrictions. These restrictions might include limited hours of use, locations, and purposes (for example, medical examinations). An occupational modification is only once every five years.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
NEED PROFESSIONAL HELP ?

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you