Speeding Laws by State

Learn what the speeding and reckless driving laws and penalties are in all 50 states.

Consult the chart below for a brief description of your state's speeding and reckless driving laws. Click on the link to your state for detailed information. These fines may change over time and differ by county. Check with the county clerk for the most current fines.

State Max Highway Speed Exceeding Speed Limit Penalty Reckless Driving Penalty
Alabama 70 MPH fined not more than $100, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 10 days fined between $25 and $500, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 90 days
Alaska 65 MPH fined not more than $300, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than one month fined not more than $1,000, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 90 days
Arizona 65 MPH  fined not more than $250, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than one year fined not more than $750, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 120 days
Arkansas 60 MPH sentenced to jail time of not more than 10 days, and fined not more than $100 fined not more than $500, and sentenced to jail time of between 5-90 days
California 70 MPH fined not more than $100, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than 30 days fined between $145 and  $1,000, and sentenced to jail time of between 5-90 days
Colorado 65 MPH  fined between $15 and $100, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than one year fined between $10 to $300, and sentenced to jail time of between 10-90 days
Connecticut 65 MPH  fined not more than $50, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than 30 days fined between $100 to $300, and sentenced to jail time of between 30-90 days
Delaware 65 MPH  fined $20, and the violator’s license may be suspended between two to 12 months fined between $100 and $300, and sentenced to jail time of between 10-30 days
DC 25 MPH fined between $15 and $100, and the violator’s license may be suspended between two and 90 days fined not more than $250, and sentenced to jail time of between 90 days
Florida 70 MPH fined between $25 and $250, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than 30 days fined between $25 to $500, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 90 days
Georgia 70 MPH fined not more than $1,000, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 12 months fined not more than $1,000, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 12 months
Hawaii 60 MPH fined not more than $200, and the violator’s license may be suspended between one to five years fined not more than $1000, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 30 days
Idaho 75 MPH fined not more than $100, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than one year fined between $25 and $300, and sentenced to jail time between five to 90 days
Illinois 65 MPH fined not more than $1,000, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than one year fined not more than $2500, and sentenced to jail time of not more than one year
Indiana 65-70 MPH fined not more than $500, and the violator’s license may be suspended between one to five years fined not more than $1000, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 180 days
Iowa 65 MPH  fined between $50 and $100, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 30 days fined between $50 and $100, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 30 days
Kansas 70 MPH fined not more than $500, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than one year fined between $25 and $500, andsentenced to jail time of between 5 and 90 days
Kentucky 65 MPH fined not more than $100, and the violator’s license may be suspended between 90 days to two years fined between $20 and $200, and the violator’s license may be suspended between 90 days to two years
Louisiana 70 MPH fined not more than $175, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 30 days fined not more than $200, and sentenced to jail time not more than 90 days
Maine 65 MPH  fined between $25 and $250, and the violator’s license may be suspended 15 days fined not more than $1000,sentenced to jail time of not more than six months
Maryland 65 MPH fined not more than $500, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than two years fined not more than $1,000, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than two years
Massachusetts 65 MPH first time violator may be fined not less than $50 fined between $20 and $200, and sentenced to jail time of between two weeks to two years
Michigan 70 MPH fined not more than $100, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than one year fined not more than $100, and sentenced to jail time of not more than not more than 90 days
Minnesota 65 MPH fined not more than $200, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than one year fined not more than $700, and sentenced to jail time of not more than not more than 90 days
Mississippi 70 MPH fined not more than $100, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 10 days fined between $5 and $100, and the violator’s license may be suspended (no period of time is specified)
Missouri 70 MPH fined not more than $500, and sentenced to jail time of not more than six months fined not more than $500, and sentenced to jail time of not more than six months
Montana 75 MPH fined between $10 and $100, and the violator’s license may be suspended six months fined between $25 and $300, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 90 days months
Nebraska 75 MPH fined between $10 and $200, and the violator’s license may be revoked for six months fined not more than $500, sentenced to jail time of not more than three months
Nevada 75 MPH fined not more than $1,000, and sentenced to jail time of not more than six months fined not more than $1000, and sentenced to jail time of not more than six months
New Hampshire 65 MPH fined not more than $1,000, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than 30 days fined between $250 and $500, and the violator’s license may be revoked for 60 days
New Jersey 65 MPH fined between $50 and $200, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 15 days fined between 450 and $200, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 60 days
New Mexico 75 MPH fined not more than $300, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 90 days fined between $25 and $100, and sentenced to jail time of between 5 to 90 days
New York 65 MPH fined between $30 to $400, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 30 days fined not more than $200, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 30 days
North Carolina 70 MPH  fined between $100 and $1,000, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 60 days fined not more than $1000, and sentenced to jail time between one to 60 days
North Dakota 70 MPH fined between $5 and $100, and the violator’s license may be suspended seven days fined not more than $500, and sentenced to jail time not more than 30 days
Ohio 65 MPH fined not more than $100, and the violator’s license may be suspended six months fined not more than $100, and the violator’s license may be suspended six months
Oklahoma 75 MPH  fined between $10 and $200, and sentenced to jail time of between five to 30 days fined between $25 and $500, and sentenced to jail time of between five to 90 days
Oregon 65 MPH fined between $75 and $600, and the violator’s license may be suspended 30 days under Driver Improvement Program fined not more than $5,000, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 12 months
Pennsylvania 65 MPH fined $35, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than one year fined $200, and the violator’s license may be suspended for six months
Rhode Island 50 MPH fined $50, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than one year fined $500, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 12 months
South Carolina 70 MPH fined between $15 and $200, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 30 days fined between $25 and $200, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 30 days
South Dakota 75 MPH fined not more than $200, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 30 days fined not more than $1,000, and sentenced to jail time of not more than one year
Tennessee 70 MPH fined not more than $50, sentenced to jail time of not more than 30 days fined not more than $500, sentenced to jail time of not more than sox months
Texas 70 MPH fined between $1 and $200, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than one year fined not more than $200, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 30 days
Utah 55 MPH fined not more than $750, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 90 days fined not more than $1000, and sentenced to jail time of not more than six months
Vermont 50 MPH  fined not more than $175, and the violator’s license may be suspended 30 days fined not more than $1000, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 12 months
Virginia 65 MPH fined not more than $200, and the violator’s license may be suspended 90 days fined not more than $2500, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 12 months
Washington 60 MPH fined not more than $250, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than one year fined not more than $500, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 12 months
West Virginia 55 MPH fined not more than $100, and the violator’s license may be suspended not more than one year fined between $25 and $500, and sentenced to jail time between 5 and 90 days
Wisconsin 65 MPH fined between $30 and $300, and the violator’s license may be suspended or revoked not more than one year fined between $25 and $200, and the violator’s license may be suspended or revoked not more than one year
Wyoming 75 MPH fined not more than $200, and sentenced to jail time of not more than 30 days fined not more than $750, and sentenced to jail time of not more than six months

Additional Resources

Follow the links below for more information on speeding laws.

Talk to a Lawyer

Want to talk to an attorney? Start here.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Connect with local attorneys
NOLODRUPAL-web2:DRU1.6.12.2.20161011.41205