South Dakota’s Traffic Violation Point System
Once a South Dakota driver reaches the point level for suspension, the DPS will send a notice of suspension. The suspension period is 60 days, six months, or one year, depending on the driver's record.
Speeding Tickets in South Dakota
South Dakota has two types of speeding laws: “absolute limits” and a “basic speeding law.” This article explains the differences between the two and the cost of a speeding violation.
Red Light and Stop Sign Tickets in South Dakota
If you get a stop sign or red light ticket in South Dakota, you’ll likely have to pay a fine. A conviction will also add demerit points to your driving record. This article gives an overview of what the law requires and some of the consequences of a stop sign or red light violation.
South Dakota’s Commercial Driver’s License Laws
Obtaining a commercial driver's license (CDL) in South Dakota requires passage of a skills and knowledge test based upon the type of commercial motor vehicles (CMV) being driven. Federal law requires that CDL drivers crossing state lines must be 21 years of age. States may set different age limits for commercial drivers that operate solely within the state.
South Dakota’s Child Car Seat and Seatbelt Laws
South Dakota has laws requiring drivers to ensure child passengers are properly secured. Violations will lead fines.