Connecticut, like most states, uses a point system to track drivers. Under that system each point serves as a demerit, and the more you get, the more likely it is that you will have your license suspended or even revoked for good.
The consequences of a Connecticut speeding violation generally depend on the type of violation (absolute limit or unreasonably fast), how much faster than the speed limit the motorist was driving, and where the violation took place.
Teen drivers wishing to apply for a learner permit in the State of Connecticut must wait until they are 16 years of age. If the teen driver has held the learner permit in good standing (without suspensions or offenses) for 180 days the teen may apply for a Connecticut Driver License.
With certain exceptions, Connecticut’s distracted driving law bans all cellphone and wireless device use—including texting—while driving. Read about the specifics of the law and the costs of a cellphone or texting ticket.
If you get caught running a stop sign or red light in Connecticut, you’ll typically be looking at a fine and points on your driving record. This article gives an overview of what the law prohibits and some specific consequences of a stop sign or red light violation.
What is the law in Connecticut regarding passengers in your pickup cargo bed? Connecticut is one of a majority of states that has restrictions on passengers in the cargo bed of a pickup truck. For the most part, these laws are intended to protect younger passengers.
What does it mean to drive without a license in Connecticut? Driving without a license can refer to three scenarios: driving without a valid license, driving without your license in your possession, and driving on a suspended or revoked license. The penalties depend on the type of violation you commit.
Obtaining a commercial driver's license (CDL) in Connecticut requires passage of a skills and knowledge test based upon the type of commercial motor vehicles (CMV) being driven. Federal law requires that CDL drivers crossing state lines must be 21 years of age. States may set different age limits for commercial drivers that operate solely within the state.