Ohio’s distracted driving laws generally ban texting-while-driving for all motorists and talking on a cellphone for only certain drivers. Read about the law's specifics and the costs of getting a cellphone or texting ticket.
Ohio drivers who run stop signs or red lights will likely have to pay a fine. A red light or stop sign conviction will also add points to a person’s driving record. This article gives an overview of what the law requires and some of the penalties for a stop sign or red light ticket.
Motor vehicle traffic remains the leading cause of death for Ohio children aged 4 to 7 years. In 2007, Ohio’s booster seat use rate for children aged 4 to 8 years was only 18 percent, one of the lowest in the country. Ohio has laws mandating protection for children in cars. The following table indicates Ohio’s requirements.