State Penalties for Running Red Lights and Stop Signs

Get information about red light and stop sign violations in all 50 states.

Each state imposes different penalties for traffic violations. But most commonly, a traffic ticket carries fines and traffic violation points. Here are the fines and points for red light and stop sign violations in each state. However, keep in mind that penalties sometimes change and the circumstances of individual cases can alter the standard penalties.

Fines, Points, and Jail Time for Red Light and Stop Sign Tickets in Each State

In most states, the penalties are the same for stop sign and red light tickets. However, there are sometimes variations depending on the circumstances such as the driver's history, the facts of the case, and whether the ticked was issued by an officer or as the result of automated cameras.

State Penalties
Alabama

First offense. Up to $100 and a maximum 10 days in jail.

Second offense. Up to $200 in fines and a maximum 30 days in jail for a second offense within a year.

Third offense. Up to $500 in fines and a maximum 3 months in jail for a third offense within a year.

Points. Red light and stop sign tickets carry 3 demerit points.

Alaska Typically, a fine of $75 to $150 and 4 demerit points.
Arizona Typically, a fine of up to $250 plus surcharges and 2 demerit points.
Arkansas

First offense. Up to $100 and a maximum 10 days in jail for a first offense.

Second offense. Up to $200 in fines and a maximum 20 days in jail for a second offense within a year.

Third offense. Up to $500 in fines and a maximum 6 months in jail for a third offense within a year.

Points. Red light and stop sign tickets carry 3 demerit points.

California

Fines and fees. Base fines for red light and stop sign violations are $35 or $100 depending on the specifics of the violation (but the fines and fees make the total amount the driver has to pay a lot more).

Points. Stop sign and red light tickets carry 1 demerit point.

Colorado

Stop sign fines. Stop sign violations carry a $70 fine and $10 surcharge ($80 total).

Red light fines. A Normal red light violations carry a $100 fine and $10 surcharged ($110 total).

Points. Stop sign and red light tickets carry 4 demerit points.

Camera tickets. The maximum fine for a red light camera ticket is $75 and camera tickets don't result in points.

Connecticut Typically, a fine of $134 and 2 demerit points.
Delaware

Stop sign fines. For stop sign violations, there's a fine of $25 to $75 for a first offense and $57.50 to $95 for a second or subsequent offense within two years.

Red light fines. For red light violations, there's a fine of $75 to $230 for a first offense and $100 to $575 (and a possible 10 to 60 days in jail) for a second or subsequent offense within two years.

Points. Both violations carry 3 demerit points.

Camera Tickets. However, red light camera tickets carry no points and a fine of $112.50.

D.C.

Stop sign fines. Stop sign violations carry a fine of $100.

Red light fines. Red light violations carry a fine of $150 ($50 for flashing red lights) stop sign violations carry a fine of $100.

Points. Both violations generally result in 2 demerit points.

Florida Typically, a fine of $150 to $275 and at least 3 demerit points.
Georgia

Red light and stop signs. Typically, a fine of $200 to $250 and 3 demerit points.

Camera tickets. A red light camera ticket carries a maximum $70 fine and no demerit points.

Hawaii

First offense. Up to $200 in fines for a first violation.

Second offense. Up to $300 in fines for a second violation within a year.

Third offense. Up to $500 in fines for a third or subsequent violation within a year.

Idaho Typically, a fine of $90 and 3 demerit points.
Illinois Typically, a fine of $120 ($100 for red light camera tickets) and 20 demerit points.
Indiana

First offense. Up to $35.50 in fines.

Second offense. Up to $250.50 in fines for a second offense in five years.

Third offense. Up to $500 in fines for a third offense in five years.

Points. A red light or stop sign violation carries 4 demerit points.

Iowa Typically, fines and court costs of about $195.
Kansas Typically, a fine of $75 plus court costs.
Kentucky Generally, a fine of $20 to $100 and 3 demerit points.
Louisiana Fines typically range from about $150 to $225.
Maine Typically, a $146 fine and 4 demerit points.
Maryland

Stop sign fines. Fine of $110.

Red light fines. Typically, a $140 fine.

Points. Red lights violations carry 2 demerit points and stop sign violations carry 1 point.

Massachusetts Typically, a fine of $40 to $155 and 2 demerit points.
Michigan Typically, a fine of up to $100 and 2 demerit points.
Minnesota Up to $300 in fines.
Mississippi

First offense. Up to $100 and a maximum 10 days in jail for a first offense.

Second offense. Up to $200 in fines and a maximum 20 days in jail for a second offense within a year.

Third offense. Up to $500 in fines and a maximum 6 months in jail for a third offense within a year.

Missouri Fines and costs of about $99 and 1 demerit point.
Montana

First offense. $10 to $100 in fines for a first offense.

Second offense. $25 to $200 in fines for a second offense within a year.

Third offense. $50 to $500 in fines for a third offense within a year.

Points. Both types of violations carry 2 demerit points.

Nebraska Typically, a $75 fine, $49 in fees, and 1 demerit point.
Nevada Fines of up to $1,000 and 4 demerit points.
New Hampshire

Stop sign fines. Stop sign violations typically carry $124 fines and fees.

Red light fines. Red light violations carry fines and fees of $62 for a first violation and $124 for a second violation within a year.

Points. Both violations carry 3 demerit points.

New Jersey Fines of $50 to $200 plus court costs and 2 demerit points.
New Mexico Fine of $25 plus costs and fees and 3 demerit points.
New York Fines typically are $50 to $300. Both violations carry 3 points.
North Carolina Typically, a fine of $100 ($50 for red light camera tickets) and 3 demerit points.
North Dakota Typically, $20 to $100 in fines and 2 demerit points.
Ohio

First offense. Up to $100 in fines for a first offense.

Second offense. Up to $250 in fines and a maximum 30 days in jail for a second offense within a year.

Third offense. Up to $500 in fines and a maximum 60 days in jail for a third offense within a year.

Points. Both violations carry 2 demerit points.

Oklahoma

First offense. $5 to $500 in fines and/or up to 10 days in jail for a first offense.

Second offense. $5 to $500 in fines and/or up to 20 days in jail for a second offense in a year.

Third offense. $5 to $500 in fines and/or up to 6 months in jail for a third offense in a year.

Points. Red light and stop sign violations carry 2 demerit points.

Oregon

Fines range from $135 to $1,000, with the presumptive fine being $265

Pennsylvania Fines of $25 plus fees and costs and 3 demerit points.
Rhode Island Fine of $85.
South Carolina Fine of up to $100 plus court costs and 4 demerit points.
South Dakota Typically, a fine of $122.50 and 3 demerit points.
Tennessee Up to $50 in fines, a maximum 30 days in jail, and 4 demerit points.
Texas Typically, about $150 to $275 in fines.
Utah Typically, the fine is around $120. Both offenses carry 50 demerit points.
Vermont

Stop sign fines. The fines for stop sign tickets are typically around $160.

Red light fines. The fines for red light tickets are typically around $220.

Points. Both violations carry 2 demerit points.

Virginia

Stop sign fines. Typically, fines to stop sign tickets are $88.

Red light fines. Typically, fines for red light tickets are $101.

Points. Both violations carry 3 demerit points.

Washington Up to $48 fine plus fees.
West Virginia

First offense. Up to $100 in fines for a first offense.

Second offense. Up to $200 in fines for a second offense in a year.

Third offense. Up to $500 in fines for a third offense in a year.

Points. Both violations carry 3 demerit points.

Wisconsin

First offense. $20 to $40 in fines for a first offense.

Second offense. $50 to $100 in fines for a second offense in a year.

Points. Both violations carry 3 demerit points.

Wyoming

Stop sign fines. Fines for stop sign tickets are $135

Red light fines. Fines for red light violations are $85 to $135.

Options for Dealing With Traffic Ticket

The penalties listed above are those that one can normally expect for a red light or stop sign conviction. However, a driver might also have other options, like traffic school, for avoiding the consequences of a traffic ticket.

Talk to a Traffic Attorney

Depending on the circumstances, it might be worth talking to a traffic attorney about your ticket. Most traffic attorneys offer a free consultation, so it doesn't hurt to take advantage of these offers before deciding what to do about your ticket.

Talk to a Lawyer

Need a lawyer? Start here.

How it Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you
Get Professional Help

Talk to a Traffic Ticket attorney.

How It Works

  1. Briefly tell us about your case
  2. Provide your contact information
  3. Choose attorneys to contact you